A New Space by Jeremy Blackwater

A New Space by Jeremy Blackwater

‘Look at that poor derelict.’

My classmate smirks as he clutches his laptop.

The invisible man curls up in a heap,

A face peeks out of the gray blanket.

My gut begins to heave in distress.

I too get labeled

When I don’t live up to expectations

Even when I’ve paid my dues.

Sadness arches over me when I hear whispers.

Go back Prairie Chicken, dirty injun

It still bothers me.

Even though we’ve paid in blood.

I dress like them, talk like them

Raise my hand in class.

I know I can’t earn respect,

Yet I trap myself in the non-belonging box.

Then something changed.

I’m not sure how.

I stopped placating

Another world unfolded.

A no-label domain

A not-pay zone of acceptance

A space of inherent dignity

I grew up

In a plethora of grace.

Thank you all my relatives.

Standard

Leave a Reply

