Easter is Coming by Jeremy Blackwater

Easter Is Coming by Jeremy Blackwater

My whole family looks forward to Easter. We love making Easter Eggs and letting the homeless choose which one they like.

We love the Easter services. I’m sure that the reason so many Natives attend the Episcopal service is because of the colorful ceremony that is so haunting. I love being an acolyte and participate in the precise movements of something sacred like carrying the cross or lighting the candles. It makes me a part of it all.

I know that the sacred is everywhere, not in a building or even a ceremony but and this is a big BUT, when there are a bunch of people who tell the same story that good life is possible now, it is a sacred ceremony. I love the ceremony. I love being with a story telling people. I love being part of something bigger than myself. And I love giving Easter eggs to the homeless.

Standard

Leave a Reply

