Limitations…Jay Begay

Limitations    Jay Begay

I hear my brother-cousin mutter “I’m not good enough.” I immediately jump on him and tell him that he is cutting off his future with that.

He jumps back at me and yells, “You told me to accept my limitations.  And I’m not good in algebra.”

He made me think. So I tell him that he is part right.  He is not superior in algebra but he is good enough to learn the basics.

Then I think some more. He is concerned about his skill and I am afraid that will spill over into who he is. So I tell him that he is good enough to keep trying. He is good enough to not quit. He is good enough to see which skill he wants to develop. He is good enough for new experiences. He’s good enough as a person absolutely. We all have levels of skill and we don’t have to be top in all of them.

He grins and says “Okay, okay, I’m good enough as me. I’m at level 1- at algebra.

I wipe my brow in exaggeration and grin back. He got it.

Standard

Leave a Reply

