Lonely at Christmas by Katy Yazee

Lonely by Katy Yazee

***

I’m lonely

In spite of Christmas

Or maybe because

There’s too much fuss.

What would my grandmother say?

***

She used to tell me

Stay Strong

Remember your roots

Don’t do wrong.

But I feel alone.

***

My memories are bent

Christmas is tough

Too much violence

Everyone’s too rough

What happened to joy?

***

I remember being hit

Of hiding in fear

From a very bad man

I shed many tears.

Then I said no.

***

Now I am safe.

We decorate a tree

My kids laugh aloud

There’s so much to see.

It’s a new kind of Christmas.

***

New memories grow

I’m slow to believe

Christmas is being

A  kind of family.

We protect each other.

***

A new star shines.

God walks with us.

Merry Christmas.

***

Standard

Leave a Reply

