Spirit Within by Jacob Nez

 

 

Spirit Within by Jacob Nez

     Someone says “thank God” after some silly assignment of hers gets an A. It offended me.

     A Native friend nudges me and whispers “I don’t like it either.”

    I think of what my grandmother taught me. We give thanks for life and all creation, for we believe that the life spirit resides in everything on Mother Earth or Father Sky.

     We don’t give thanks for doing our homework or getting lucky. We acknowledge and respect the spirit that lives in and sustains all of creation. There’s a difference in expressing relief on good fortune and thanking God deeply.

     It reminded me that sometime I sprinkle the holy pollen indifferently in the morning and that I need to cleanse myself of my superficiality.

    Greet the sun with me tomorrow morning brothers and sisters.

Standard

Leave a Reply

