Cardboard Houses by Jacob Nez

Cardboard Houses by Jacob Nez
I love the rain. Yet, as I talk with homeless people living under bridges and alleys, they tell me about the cardboard they take from trash bins behind big stores to place over them when it rains.
It collapses, of course, and then they sit in water getting wetter.
I can’t give them a house. I don’t have the money to buy tarps for them. They can get food but nothing stops the rain.
I would like to pray to God to send them houses but they tell me what they most want is a job so they can pay for their own things and have their self- respect back.
And then there are those who are afraid to get back into the social world. They don’t like or understand all the stuff they have to go through in paper documentation to live in a regular place.
And there are those who are so afraid and confused that they don’t know what they want.
So I pray to God that more people who have money and influence can help end their suffering.

Standard

Leave a Reply

