Old Limited Dreams by Joseph Begay

Limited Dreams by Joseph Begay
Just four ago, my main dreams were “I don’t want to die in a fight or drunk in a car. I don’t want to wake up not knowing where I am, of going to sleep angry. My life is crap. I just don’t want to mess up again.”
Now I have a job. People ask where I live and I tell them I’m in an apartment. They ask why I carry a book and I tell them that I take community college classes. At last people look at me like I am someone going somewhere.
Someone said that religions all talk about your life being transformed, from going nowhere to heading toward what is sacred. That’s me.
Young kids on the Rez want to know how I got here.
I tell them that I joined a youth group that went places with people who cared about our future and talked hard core to us. I told them that I was from the Episcopal Church where we are encouraged to keep our traditional beliefs and to speak our minds.
They look at me like I am from a different world.
Maybe I am.

Standard

Leave a Reply

