Souls by Jacob Nez

Souls by Jacob Nez

     A dog was killed in the middle of the street where I walk. I pulled him over by his legs so the cars would not keep running over him.  I remember when we studied this quote on the Three Ohiyesa by Charles Alexander Eastman. “We believe that the spirit pervades all creation and that every creature possesses a soul in some degree, though not necessarily a soul conscious of itself. The tree, the waterfall, the grizzly bear, each is an embodied Force, and as such an object of reverence.”

     So, I can’t understand why non Natives show such disrespect toward homeless people who everyone knows have souls.

     I don’t care what everyone thinks. I gave thanks for the dog by the side of the road and I stop and talk to the street people with a little extra care.

Image

Standard

Leave a Reply

