Memorial Day by Jay Begay

Memorial Day by Jay Begay

     I remember when my cousin came back from Afghanistan on his second tour. He told me “They don’t want us over there. No one knows why we are there. It is certainly not for the safety of American. My buddy died and I don’t know why.”

     This is Memorial Day—the day to remember those who have died in combat. I have problems with the wars we fight. And I feel for all those who have died in wars in which they do not see has purpose. Yet they have died fighting and for that I honor them. They did not give up and they looked for a way to survive. I honor all those who die trying.

     I also honor those on the streets who have died. They do not get a day to honor them but they also fight to survive.

     Happy Memorial Day

Image

Standard

Leave a Reply

