The Smell by Nathan Blackwater

The Smell by Nathan Blackwater

I smell the dirt

Of clothes clinging to him.

He’s been hurt

His eyes shift around.

 

I say “What’s up, Bro?”

He mumbles stiffly

Words can’t flow,

Nothing comes out.

 

I wait around

He shifts his foot

His eyes to the ground.

His anguish spreads to me.

 

Not sure what to do

Have nothing to say

Don’t have any food

Nothing to share.

 

“I’ve been hurt too”

I admit in shame

Knows I speak true

He reaches out his hand.

 

He pats me on the back

Says “It’ll be okay.

He’s the one who lacks

Yet he gives me grace.

 

Why does this surprise me?

The smell distracted

I didn’t see

His courage beneath.

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

