Doubts by Jacob Nez

Doubts by Jacob Nez

     Yes, I have doubts. I don’t always understand the difference between what is factual and what is a story. I have no doubts about the meaning that my faith gives me. When I participate in Church ceremonies I feel connected to something deep, to something real. Part of it is the community who accepts me and part of it are the stories that talk about what people of faith can do. Something happens to me when I care for the vulnerable ones on the streets. I feel alive and more connected. I feel related.

     So I find language to talk about the meaning and not worry about the rest. I repeat the Spirit Journey Youth’s creed that we created to understand just what we believe.  

     “I believe in the God within us, the Holy Spirit, who opens us up when we are closed so we can see new things. I believe that I can continue to change and grow, accepting forgiveness as a done deal, growing in the light.”ImagePreview

Standard

Leave a Reply

