Fill the Spaces by Joseph Begay

Fill the Spaces by Joseph Begay

     A man on the street stumbles. I help him up and we talk.

     “Sorry, man,” he says. “I’m cold and someone gave me some beer. I guess I can’t handle it anymore.”

     “Have you thought about a different life?” I ask. “I gave up drinking three years ago. It was the hardest thing I ever did.”

     “I don’t think I can do that,” he says. “I have to fill the spaces that are empty and only beer does that.”

     I think about all the time we spent in our youth group learning to reflect. Without my knowing it I learned how to go inside and think deeply. I don’t know how to teach that to people on the streets but I think I can ask questions and maybe they will think about them.

   I am learning how to fill up the spaces in my life.

Image

Standard

Leave a Reply

