Pueblo Belief by Maggie Nez

Pueblo Belief by Maggie Nez

     My pueblo grandmother used to read me this story: “A village man didn’t believe in ceremonies; or living again after death in the Shipap, the place where we come from and where we return. He never danced or helped in the ceremonies. He crushed insects and killed snakes. His pueblo didn’t understand him.”

     No matter how many times she told us this story, she would look sharply at us and remind us that participating in ceremonies and respecting all life was the foundation of being Native.

     This holy week, I have been thinking about both Native and Christian ceremonies that are the foundation of our beliefs. I am glad I am an Episcopalian, that I got baptized, and that I belong to both communities.

Image

Standard

Leave a Reply

