Rough Trade by Katy Yazee

Rough Trade by Katy Yazee
While playing in the park with my kids, a young girl came up to us to play with them. We talked a little bit and she confided that she had a two year old daughter. “She means the world to me,” she says. “I do anything to keep her alive.”
As she talked, a tear slid down her cheek. She told me she had become a prostitute on the streets to earn money to keep her daughter safe. A friend took care of the girl when she went out at night. “I make enough to pay the rent and feed her but I can’t get ahead. I don’t know what else I can do.”
As we talked, she says “I’m into rough trade. Guys will pay for someone they can beat up. I feel so filthy.”
We talked some more but could not come to a conclusion. I gave her some places she could stay but most places will not accept children. Plus, she has to earn money to feed her daughter.
She told me where she is staying and my cousin and I are looking for a job and a cheaper place to live. I have a lot of friends and we are going to work hard to get her out of her trade.
Meanwhile, we could use prayers and any contacts anyone has.
It will take a lot of people to help this young girl and her daughter. I see myself in this young girl and how friends from the youth group helped me to escape my situation.Image

 

Standard

One thought on “Rough Trade by Katy Yazee

Leave a Reply

