Lenten Reflection by Jeremy Blackwater

Lenten Reflection by Jeremy Blackwater

 

Dirt and Rocks

Blooms and mountains

Fruit and streams

One thread

 

My back to the tree

Feet digging in the dirt

Hands holding branches

Energy wells up

 

Walking barefoot

Sun falling on back

Wind tickles my face

I am connected.

 

This is where I feel

Where I can touch

Where I can smell

So many blessings.

 

God is not somewhere else.

Creator is not absent.

Great Spirit touches me

In every dimension.

 

My grandmother speaks

Her aging hands calm

Her dark eyes affirm

My memories enrich me.

 

It doesn’t take much

To go outside

Sit under a tree

To know holiness.

 

This is the time

To connect to the Holy

To resolve the past

To grasp the profound.

 

Mother Earth holds me up

My ancestors nourish me

Faith keeps me going

I am rooted.

Image

Standard

Leave a Reply

