Being Separate by Kathy Yazee

“Your life doesn’t have to be what you see around you.”

     I don’t remember who told me that but I discover that I say that a lot to my kids.

     At school, my daughter told me that some of the kids never did their homework, never asked questions, and never just read because they liked it.

     I find myself telling her again “Your life doesn’t have to be what you see around you.”

     She tells me with indignation, “I know, you always say that.”

     So this time I ask her what it means.

    “Oh, Mother, it means that I’m not the same. I don’t do what the other girls do. I like to read and no one else is going to change that. That’s easy.”

     I know I was in my 20’s before I realized that I could have a separate identity than the one everyone seems to expect.

     I am proud of my daughter but I will continue telling her that she is not the same as what she sees around her. It’s a lesson I have had to remember the hard way.

Image

Standard

Leave a Reply

