Hogan by Katy Yazee

Grandmother sits

On the South side

Where women rule

Weaving beauty.

 

I run to her.

She takes me on her lap.

And points to the East

To the rising sun.

 

I try to quiet

My deafening voice

And think good thoughts

While warm in her lap.

 

Of all things I treasure,

It is this.

Her arms around me,

Her welcoming lap.

 

Her silence

And pointing hand

Joining my heart

With all good things.

 

Thank you Grandmother

For your warmth.

and your hogan

Of sacred space

Image

 

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

