Abused Woman by Joseph Begay

Abused Woman by Joseph Begay

I saw her. She was stumbling down the street with a swollen eye and bruised cheek. I asked her if she was okay but she was scared of me and hurried away. When I came home I made a sketch of what I remembered.

Men who beat up women are not men; they are cowards.

We are put on this earth to respect people and to respect our self.Image

I pray for this woman.

I modified this prayer from the New Zealand prayer book. “God of the present moment, bring hope and courage to this woman as she walks in uncertainty. Give hope so she can face whatever she fears. Give courage to endure what cannot be avoided. You are God. In you we live.”

Standard

Leave a Reply

