What is Important by Jay Begay

  I heard the Native news show in New Mexico talk about Native tattoos. I don’t like tattoos myself but it started me thinking about photographs or paintings about what is important about our Native tradition.

     For me, I am torn between my grandmother, her Hogan or the writing of the word Hozho.

     My grandmother embodies the spiritual guide in my journey. She told me stories that still guide me and demonstrated generosity of the soul.

     Her Hogan on the side of her son’s house is the center of many ceremonies that nourish me.

     Hozho is the word for beauty and the words “Walk in Beauty” is the cornerstone of my spirituality.

          So if you chose to photograph something on the land, or a person or a tribal symbol that honors your tradition, what would it be?

Image

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

