Crash by Joseph Begay

Cold wind  makes people huddle more into themselves. Some barely hold their heads outside their scarves. I notice more street men leaning against buildings. I see kids hiding behind garbage cans in the alleys. I wonder at the selfishness in us all (or maybe it is survival) to withdraw when our comfort level drops. I have to focus on compassion. It doesn’t well up like it has.  I worry about how much I close myself off from others just because I am cold. This is the time when I need to pray more, when my images of being a decent person crashes because I am cold.

So I pray: God have mercy on all those who are at the mercy of the weather. God have mercy on us all.

Image

 

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Crash by Joseph Begay

Leave a Reply

