#10 Don’t Have to Wait

 

Anne Lamott “I do not at all understand the mystery of grace -only that it meets us where we are
and does not leave us where it found us.”

 

Once we were discussing the possibility of moving to a city. Our small town has been dying since I moved there. We know that we bring our problems with us but the young adults wanted to be in a new environment with new friends who do not expect the old behaviors.

 

One youth confesses, “I don’t think I am ready yet. I need to build up some good things in myself before I can make it in another town.”

 

“What do you mean?” asks a teen.

 

“I’m not strong enough to change,” he says. “I need to wait until I know I can make it.”

 

“You may wait forever,” says one of the youth teasingly.

 

Another youth speaks up. “I remember when I didn’t like saying anything in the group because I thought that I didn’t have anything to say. I was going to wait until I got smart enough. But then we went around the table and I said something. No one told me it was stupid. I got into the habit of saying what I thought and then I realized that the more I spoke the better I got at what I was saying. If I had waited until I was good enough, I never would have got good enough.”

 

That sparked several comments. One of the youth finally says “Sometimes you just have to risk doing something new and the ‘good enough’ happens because you did something different.”

 

Something happened to us in that conversation. I think all of us had the anxiety that maybe we could force change into ourselves without first making a commitment. We also had a skewed image of what it meant to be “good enough.” Somewhere we had an expectation that we had to stand in certainty before we could move.

 

This conversation did not end here. It evolved into a discussion about grace. Somehow we were able to plant into our souls that wherever we are in our journey, we are always good enough because we are cherished in spite of who we are.

 

It is a relief to read Annie Lamott’s statement:  “I do not at all understand the mystery of grace -only that it meets us where we are and does not leave us where it found us.”

 

When we start asserting the gift we are, our framework alters and transformation can greet us.

 

We are always good enough to change.

 

In faith,

Kaze

Image

 

 

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “#10 Don’t Have to Wait

Leave a Reply

