River by Katy Yazee

Wading in the creek

My cuz splashes me

I laugh as

A frog leaps

 

Grandmother calls out

Play over here.

The water is too fast

You’re not safe.

 

I hit the water

With an angry fist.

“Where can I stand?

I’m big.”

 

Now my children

Jump blindly

Fall out of trees

Skin their knees

 

Where do I stand

In a rushing river?

Is still my question.

I want to know.

 

How do I keep them safe?

It’s simple.

I can’t.

Not and let them grow.

 

River surrounds us.

You are carried along.

Sometimes you are strong enough

To direct your movements.

 

Sometimes

You let the river

Carry you.

Choose .

Standard

3 thoughts on “River by Katy Yazee

Leave a Reply

