Bless the Lord by Nathan Blackwater

This has been printed before and it is in our booklet to hand out to street people. When I wrote it, I thought it was for others. As I reread it, I think maybe has always been about my life.  The thing is that my life is going smoothly right now. I have a job, I’m taking college courses, I’m living with a friend in an apartment, and I have a ministry. I don’t forget where I came from or how bored I was last year or how stressed I got at the drama around me. I know it can’t last so I keep saying this psalm to myself: “He returns us to our center when we get lost.” I don’t ever want to get so lost again that I don’t even know that I am lost. So this is about the big picture of my life and not just about how things are going now. Enjoy.

 

 

Bless the Lord

 

Bless the Lord in the deepest part of my heart,

For all the things that make me grateful, bless his Holy name.

Bless the Lord and don’t forget all the things He gives us.

 

He forgives us when we mess up.

He returns us to our center when we get lost.

He brings us back when we are down.

And declares us worthy of mercy and kindness.

 

The Lord is full of compassion and mercy,

More than we can understand or believe.

He gets angry slowly and stays kind in spite of our mistakes.

He will not keep his anger against us.

 

Bless the Lord, all you who are His children

Who live in terrible circumstances.

Bless the Lord, all you who are present.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Bless the Lord by Nathan Blackwater

Leave a Reply

