Running by Katy Yazee

Running Away

By Katy Yazee

 

Running away

No longer my game

Face up

Get real.

 

Was it so easy

For Grandmother?

Racial slaps

Limited choices.

 

She loved me.

Held me close

Told me stories

Never let go.

 

To grow up

I needed her

Attention, her arms.

I still see her.

 

She died.

Cut off from support

I cringed,

Afraid to risk.

 

Years pass.

Saw a child

Homeless near the tracks

Found myself responding.

 

Felt insulated in shell

Fragile outside.

Blossoming inside

With wonder drawing me.

 

I’m called to be sturdy

To fly like the eagle

Who stays high to see

A larger world.

Standard

Leave a Reply

